Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Yallingup capture club's maiden Surf League win

Yallingup Boardrider © Surfing WA/Woolacott
Yallingup Boardrider © Surfing WA/Woolacott





The Surf Boardroom Surf League

Surfing Western Australia 
Scarborough Beach, Perth Western Australia 
4 October, 2014 

Yallingup claims most prestigious and longest running tag team event 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 6 October, 2014 - The Yallingup Boardriders created history at Scarborough Beach over the weekend, claiming the club's maiden victory at Western Australia's longest running and most prestigious tag team surfing event, The Surf Boardroom Surf League presented by Rip Curl.

First run in 1986, the 2014 Surf League will be remembered as one of the tightest and most hotly contested battles of grassroots surfing in years. Light variable winds, a pulsing swell and an exciting on-beach atmosphere oozed the spirit and pride of seven metropolitan and regional boardriding clubs who fought hard for a total of $5K in cash and prizes.

A talent packed field of former ASP World Tour competitors, ASP WQS campaigners, multiple junior and open State Champions, big wave chargers and amazing free-surfers ensured the standard of competition exceeded all expectations with exciting performances across the board.

The unique Surf League format allows clubs to nominate their six strongest surfers (4 x open age, 1 x O/28 senior, and 1 x U/18 junior), with each surfers top two wave scores combined for a team total. 
Preliminary heats saw wins to Trigg Point and Margaret River who moved directly into the final, while Yallingup and Geraldton had to surf against Surf Beach and City Beach in round two to reach the blue ribbon four team final.

The extra surf for both Yallingup and Geraldton seemed to put them in better tune with the ocean as they opened strongly and applied pressure to Trigg and Margaret River from the onset of an enthralling 90 minute final.

Yallingup took to the air and buried rail in a complete display that saw them capture the club's maiden Surf League win. The Yallingup Boardriders team which included Jake Paterson, Jay Davies, Dan Waddell, Brody Maclean, Kael Walsh and Duke Nagtzaam, proved too strong scoring 89.5 just ahead of Geraldton on 88.0.

"I can't believe this, it's unreal," said Yallingup's 'power surfer' Jay Davies. "We've never done that well at this event in the past, but to win ahead of some quality opposition with a bunch of your best mates makes this whole thing pretty sweet."

Despite the best efforts of standout surfer Max Marsden, Geraldton had to settle for a second by the narrowest of margins. Marsden gave his club  an early lead after completing a massive full rotation arieal reverse which receive the perfect 10 point score. Marsden was awarded the prestigious Perry Hatchett medal, an honour reserved to best surfer in the final.

"I'm so proud of our guys and thank all the other clubs for a great event," said Geraldton Boardriders stalwart Leon Norris. "It's events like this remind me exactly why I got involved in the sport so many years ago."

Old rivalries were always expected to be fierce between defending champions Trigg Point and the Margaret River Boardriders, but  the traditional event favourites had to settle for third and fourth place respectively, with Trigg Point finishing on a combined total of 81.1 to Margaret River's 79.8.

The Surf League forms an integral part of the Western Australian surfing scene, with 2014 marking the 22nd anniversary of local surf retailer The Surf Boardroom supporting this iconic and much loved event.

"We've been involved with the Surf League since 1992 and to be a part of an event for over twenty years that encourages the opening success of WA boardriding clubs is something pretty special." Surf Boardroom General Manager Neil Atkinson said.

Surfing WA's Event Manager Justin Majeks was elated with the Surf League's ongoing success and excited it gave WA clubs a great chance to prepare for the upcoming Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle set for late November.

"It's clear that events such as this are a big deal for WA clubs, to see the encouragement, excitement and entertainment we did on the weekend was amazing," Majeks said. "Yallingup will surely be stirred on by this result and given the fact they'll be hosting WA's next tag team event on their home beaches is an exciting twist to it all."

1st Place ($1200) Yallingup Boardriders – 89.5 Points
2nd Place ($800) Geraldton Boardriders – 88.0 Points
3rd Place ($600) Trigg Point Boardriders – 81.1 Points
4th Place ($400) Margaret River Boardriders – 79.8 Points
5th Place – Surf Beach Surfriders & City Beach Surfriders
7th Place -  Mandurah Boardirders

Most Supportive Club ($100) > City Beach Surfriders
Perry Hatchett Medal (Best Surfer In Final) > Max Marsden (Geraldton)
Creatures Cream Of The Crop (Best Individual Move) > Dan Waddell (Yallingup)
Rip Curl Best Tube (Best Tube / Cover Up) > Brad Harrington (Surf Beach)
Otis Eyewear Best Air (Best Aerial Move) > Jay Davies (Yallingup)
Rip Curl Ripper Award (Highest Individual Score) > Max Marsden (Geraldton) 10 POINT RIDE
Creatures Best Coach > Leon Norris (Gerladton)
Otis Eyewear Cover Your Eyes (Best Wipeout) > Matt Lodge (Mandurah)
Surf Boardroom Baywatch Award (Best Run / Tag) > Anthony Spencer (Geraldton)
Rip Curl Falling Star (Best Senior Surfer) > Jake Paterson (Yallingup)
Creatures Most Entertaining Surfers > Brad Domke (City Beach)
Creatures Powerhouse (Best Power Surfer) > Toryn Crocker (City Beach)
Channel Island Sufboards Freaky Talent (Best Junior Sufer) > Campbell Forrestt (Surf Beach)

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter