Andrew dominates Queensland women's division

Keely Andrew © Whitmore/Surfing Queensland 

Surfing Queensland State Masters and Women’s Series

Surfing Queensland
Maroochydore Beach, Sunshine Coast Queensland
22 - 23 June 2013

Mooloolaba’s Keely Andrew posts back-to-back victories in the Open Women’s division

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 June, 2013 : - - Surfers competing in event number two of the Surfing Queensland State Masters and Women’s series were faced with testing 1.5-2m conditions at Maroochydore beach on the Sunshine Coast today.

As a solid southerly swell pulsed into the competition area, skill and mettle were measured in equal parts by judges as the State’s best vied for a chance to represent Queensland in the Australian titles, scheduled to run in August this year.

Mooloolaba’s Keely Andrew managed to post back-to-back victories in the Open Women’s division after a win today and another on the Gold Coast earlier this year. Andrew proved to fellow competitors and spectators that she is a rising star in the women’s ranks and will be a force to be reckoned with at this year’s Australian titles.

The 18-year-old defeated 2012 State Champion Brodie Doyle (Coolangatta, QLD) posting a combined-wave total of 13.33 (out of a possible 20 points), Isabella Nichols (Coolum, QLD) and Jade Wheatley (Currumbin, QLD) respectively in today’s final.

In the blue ribbon Over 35 Men’s division, less than a point separated all surfers, but it was Wurtulla’s Matt Clark who took advantage of some great conditions in a the final heat of the day with a combined-wave score of 10.93 to defeat David McGrath (Labrador, QLD - 10.76) and Adam Leslie (Elanora, QLD - 10.10).

Queensland Masters and Women’s – Event two – Sunshine Coast Division winners:
Over 35 Men: Matt Clark (Wurtulla, QLD)
Over 40 Men: Grant Frost (Palm Beach, QLD)
Over 45 Men: Gavin Hensler (Miami, QLD)
Over 50 Men: Peter Pringle (Mudjimba, QLD)
Open Women: Keely Andrew (Mooloolaba, QLD)
Under 18 girls: Laura Poncini (Moffat Beach, QLD)
Under 16 girls: Kiani Dobbyn (Palm Beach, QLD)

As per the 2013 Surfing Australia Rule Book, allocations for the 2013 Australian Surf Masters Titles are as follows:

Open Women – Two + Wildcard
O/35 Women – Two
O/35 Men – Four
O/40 Men – Four
O/45 Men – Four
O/50 Men – Four
O/55 Men – Two

The Queensland Masters & Women’s Surfing Series is proudly supported by Be the Influence, Chiko, World Surfaris, the Queensland Government, Surfing Life Magazine and Surfing Queensland.

Spectators and competitors are encouraged to interact via Instagram under the Hashtag #sqld Competitors and spectators can call the Surfing Queensland Event Hotline after 6:30am each morning of competition for a confirmed start time and location Ph# (07) 30306388

Source: Surfing Queensland

Author: Ben Whitmore

Tags: Australia, Surfing Queensland, Women, Masters, Queensland Masters & Women’s Surfing Series

Events: Surfersvillage

  • ASL Mag
  • Curl
  • Huck
  • Natural
  • PitPilot
  • Revolt
  • Surfos
  • Vibras
  • 3Sesenta
  • 18 Seconds
  • Billabong
  • Hurley
  • Nike
  • O'Neill
  • Quiksilver
  • Rip Curl
  • Swatch
  • Vans Surf
  • Volcom
  • Von Zipper
  • BiC
  • Channel Islands
  • DC Shoes
  • FCS
  • Firewire
  • Lost
  • Moskava
  • Oxbow
  • Pukas
  • Roxy
  • ASP World Tour
  • Int'l Surfing Association
  • ALAS (Latín Pro Tour)
  • APS Puerto Rico
  • ASF (Atlantic USA)
  • Waves Brazil
  • Olas Peru
  • Surfing (Italia)
  • Surf Total (Port)
  • (NZ)
  • Atoll
  • Baleal
  • Bali
  • Chile
  • Cantabria
  • Freistil
  • Peniche
  • Surfinn
  • Urban
  • Wavetours